Over 16 million car hire quotes to date
Friday 19th of March 2010

Fake Olympic Games tickets springing up online

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ... Posted on: October 29th, 2009 by Robert Bergerson

Whenever there is a big sporting event in the world like the Olympic Games or the football World Cup there are always scams with fake tickets being peddled around the events. Auction websites and other selling avenues via the internet often get targeted as a quick way to make a few quid by unscrupulous persons looking to cash in on the dreams of fans. The 2012 Games being held in London is no different either and fake websites have already started to turn up on our screens offering great deals for tickets.

Which? Computing has shown how it easy it was for them to register a domain name, www.olympic-games-tickets.org.uk, and it cost them just £7 to do so. In their website, they explain about reporting fake websites and what to look out for when looking for tickets for the upcoming event. As well as selling no existent tickets, criminals could also gain personal details of people and make even more money by committing identity fraud. There are already a number of websites that are offering tickets for sale even though they are not officially available until next year.

The editor at Which?, Sarah Kidner said that there needs to be a more stringent process for domain names to be registered as criminals can just run away with our money. Niminet, who is the domain registry for the UK says that they believe it is not their job to control this. However, other countries around the world have stricter rules regarding domain name registration. Fake tickets will unfortunately always be around, so it will be down to the individual to how many precautions they take to ensure theu are buying an official ticket.

Spread the word: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Furl
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Other Headlines

News Feeds

Top Rated Articles


Our main rental suppliers operating worldwide are : Alamo | Budget | Thrifty | Easycar | Opodo | Ebookers | Expedia | Economy | Holiday Autos | SixT

Copyright 2007 ASAP Ventures Ltd. All rights reserved. Registered in England and Wales. Company number 4278063.
Registered office address: 1 The Square, Lightwater, Surrey, GU18 5SS.